William John James

About the Artist

William John James was born in 1870 near the town of Fordwich, in Huron County, Ontario. His family had originally settled in Perth, Ontario, where his father was a blacksmith, while also running a machine shop. After a serious disagreement with his business partner, the senior James decided to move to Huron County.

William James’ father also was the first in the family to experience the west, as he enlisted in Lord Wolseley’s Red River Expedition in 1870, right after the first Riel Rebellion. He arrived back in Fordwich just in time for the arrival of his first son, William.

The younger James seems to have inherited something of his father’s restless spirit. He decided to move to what was then known as the Northwest Territories (which at that time included Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, the Yukon and Nunavut, as well as the current Northwest Territories) when he was 19, and probably chose Prince Albert because it had a lumber industry. James had worked at a sawmill at Fordwich in his teen years, and likely felt he would find a similar job at Prince Albert. James’s granddaughter later wrote: “I don’t know why W.J. went west – aside from an obviously itchy foot that took over from time to time throughout his life.” (Silversides, 1986)  James seems to have settled into the community fairly well, working at the James Sanderson sawmill. His family joined him after 1893. His father also worked as the Sanderson sawmill, and continued there until his death in 1911.

The younger James eventually left the mill and dabbled in barbering for a while, but appears not to have been successful at it. He seems to have taken up photography soon after arriving in Prince Albert, because there exists a photo by him of the first train to enter the town, in September 1890. Biographer Brock Silversides notes that the photo, “…appears to be a most professional job and makes one wonder, even though there were no photographers in Fordwich in the 1880s, whether he did apprentice at one time." (Silversides, 1986)

In late 1894 James and itinerant photographer W. J. Jackson became partners, operating a photographic studio and a barbershop from the same location. The two services at first might seem like an odd combination. For many frontier residents, however, the most likely time they would have a bath and get a haircut would be when they had their picture taken.

The partnership with Jackson lasted only a year, and information about James’ activities is sparse for several years. He was frequently in and out of the photography business, operating under his own name or City Art Studio. In 1900 he established the Phoenix Barber Shop and Bath House adjacent to his studio.

For a time James gave up control of his business to a Samuel Gray. Gray provided an introduction to his best friend, Theodore Charmbury, who was serving his photographic apprenticeship in Aldershot, England. James offered Charmbury two years employment in his studio, which was accepted. It turned out to be a fortuitous combination. James had the pioneer’s drive and knew the country. Charmbury exposed James to the history and fine art applications of photography.

Having a trained photographer in the studio enabled James to travel to other communities in search of new business and to take advantage of special events in those communities. James traveled on the North Saskatchewan River by steamboat and on the Qu’Appelle, Long Lake and Saskatchewan Railway, and even by stagecoach to communities as far west as Battleford, north to Green Lake and east to Mistatim. He also made stops along the route to Saskatoon, and south to Wakaw. He established regular circuits at lumbering operations and camps throughout the region.

Charmbury left after his two-year contract, but the two remained friends. With the collapse of the community’s economy in 1918 Charmbury left Prince Albert to continue his career in Saskatoon.  With Charmbury’s departure, and James’s marriage to Maudie Courtney in 1904, he traveled less frequently. The Courtneys has a relatively affluent farm and stock raising operation south of Prince Albert. The couple had four daughters. Mrs. James became involved in the business and in 1920 was listed as a photographer in her own right.

James’s photography business survived, but always remained a modest one. The failure of the La Colle Falls project bankrupted the community of Prince Albert, and the city fathers passed the burden of the failure primarily onto the backs of small business people like James. By 1919 James could not pay his property tax bill and had to sell the business. However, by 1927 the Prince Albert region was experiencing another settlement boom, and James returned to the photographic studio, this time with his youngest daughter Norma as clerk and photographer. She worked with her father until he retired in the mid-1930s. He died of a heart attack in 1944.

 


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning

William John James

About the Artist

William John James est née en 1870 près de Fordwich (Huron County) en Ontario. Sa famille s’était d’abord installée à Perth (Ontario) où son père était forgeron (blacksmith) et avait aussi un atelier de construction mécanique. Mais à la suite d’un profond désaccord avec son associé, James père s’installe dans le comté d’Huron.

Le père de William James est aussi le premier de sa famille à connaître l’Ouest canadien, s’étant enrôlé dans l’expédition de la rivière Rouge de Lord Wolseley (Lord Wolseley’s Red River Expedition) en 1870, tout juste après la première rébellion de Louis Riel (Riel Rebellion). Il retourne à Fordwich à temps pour l’arrivée de son premier fils, William.

Ce dernier tient de son père dont il semble avoir hérité le caractère impétueux. À l’âge de 19 ans, il décide de s’installer dans ce qui est encore connu sous le nom de Territoires du Nord-Ouest (qui comprennent à l’époque le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan, l’Alberta, le Yukon et le Nunavut, ainsi que les Territoires du Nord-Ouest actuels) et choisit probablement Prince Albert à cause de son industrie forestière. Pendant son adolescence, il avait travaillé dans une scierie à  Fordwich et pensait trouver un emploi du même genre à Prince Albert. Plus tard, la petite-fille de James écrira : « Je ne sais pas pourquoi W.J. est parti dans l’Ouest, à part, évidemment, le fait que la maladie de la bougeotte le prenait de temps en temps sa vie durant. » (Silversides, 1986)  James s’est, apparemment, fait à la communauté où il travaille à la scierie de James Sanderson. Sa famille le rejoindra en 1893 et son père travaillera aussi chez Sanderson jusqu’à sa mort en 1911.

James quitte éventuellement son emploi à la scierie et est barbier quelques temps, apparemment sans grand succès. Il semble s’être mis à la photographie dès son arrivée à Prince Albert puisqu’on a retrouvé une photo qu’il a prise de l’arrivée du premier train dans la ville, en septembre 1890. Son biographe, Brock Silversides, fait la remarque que la photo « … semble être de qualité professionnelle, et on peut se demander si, malgré le fait qu’il n’y avait pas de photographe à Fordwich dans les années 1880s, James n’a pas été apprenti à un moment donné. » (Silversides, 1986)

Fin 1894, James et le photographe itinérant W. J. Jackson deviennent partenaires et ouvrent un studio de photographie et un salon de coiffure pour hommes dans le même endroit. À prime abord, cela semble être une combinaison bizarre mais il est fort probable que le seul moment où un pionnier prend un bain et se fait couper les cheveux est quand il se fait prendre en photo.

Le partenariat ne dure qu’une année. Ensuite, on perd un peu la trace de James  pendant plusieurs années. Il continue à faire de la photo sporadiquement, sous son propre nom ou pour City Art Studio. En 1900, il ouvre le salon de coiffure Phoenix Barber Shop and Bath House près de son studio.

À une époque, il cède le contrôle de ses affaires à un certain Samuel Gray. Ce dernier le présente à son meilleur ami, Theodore Charmbury, apprenti photographe à Aldershot (Angleterre). James offre un contrat de deux ans à Charmbury, lequel accepte. Cela sera une heureuse collaboration. James a la ténacité du pionnier et connaît bien le pays. Quant à Charmbury, il connaît l’histoire et le côté artistique de la photographie. 

Le fait qu’il y ait un photographe professionnel dans le studio permet à James de voyager pour trouver de nouveaux débouchés en profitant des événements spéciaux qui se déroulent dans d’autres endroits. James voyage en bateau à vapeur sur la rivière Saskatchewan Nord (North Saskatchewan River), en train (Qu’Appelle, Long Lake and Saskatchewan Railway) et même en diligence, allant jusqu’à Battleford à l’ouest, à Green Lake au nord, à Mistatim et à Wakaw, au sud. Il fait plusieurs arrêts en se rendant à Saskatoon. Il fait régulièrement la tournée des scieries et des sociétés d’exploitation forestière de la région.

Charmbury quitte son emploi une fois son contrat expiré mais ils restent amis. Prince Albert traversant une crise économique en 1918, il quitte Prince Albert pour Saskatoon.  En raison du départ de Charmbury et du mariage de James avec Maudie Courtney en 1904, ce dernier voyage beaucoup moins. Les Courtney sont des fermiers et éleveurs prospères, au sud de Prince Albert. Les époux James auront quatre filles. Mme James travaille au studio de photographie. En 1920, elle est elle-même photographe selon les registres. 

Le studio de James survit à la crise mais les affaires ne seront jamais florissantes. L’échec du projet des chutes de La Colle (La Colle Falls project) mène la communauté de Prince Albert à la faillite et ce sont surtout les petites entreprises comme celle de James qui en paient le prix. En 1919, il ne peut plus payer ses impôts fonciers et doit vendre son commerce. Toutefois, en 1927, la région voit un nouvel afflux d’arrivants et James rouvre son studio, cette fois-ci avec sa plus jeune fille, Norma, comme employée et photographe. Elle travaillera avec son père jusqu’à ce qu’il prenne sa retraite dans les années 1930. James décède d’une crise cardiaque en 1944.


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning