Roy Kiyooka

About the Artist

Roy Kiyooka was born in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, in 1926, a second-generation Japanese-Canadian. He grew up in Calgary, Alberta, where among more than 12,000 other Japanese Canadians he was registered as an ‘enemy alien’ during the Second World War.  He attended the Provincial Institute of Technology and Art (now named SAIT Polytechnic) in Calgary from 1946 to 1949. He then worked in the city as a display artist, teaching an evening class at the Institute, and in 1955 received a scholarship that allowed him to study for a year in Mexico.

Although he eventually settled in Vancouver, British Columbia, Kiyooka lived, worked and studied in several cities. In 1956 he took a position as an instructor at Regina College in Regina, Saskatchewan. Kiyooka was instrumental – along with Art McKay and Ron Bloore – in inviting Barnett Newman to the Emma Lake Artists Workshop in 1959. While Kiyooka associated with the painters who would become known as the “Regina Five,” he left Regina to take a position at the Vancouver School of Art (now the Emily Carr University of Art and Design) in 1959.

Over the course of his career Kiyooka was a painter, photographer, musician, filmmaker, poet, and teacher. He taught at several universities, retiring from the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1991 after a thirty-year teaching career.

Kiyooka is regarded as one of Canada’s first  multi-disciplinaryCombining a number of areas of study--disciplines--in one practice, for example, visual art, music, and theatre.  artists. His visual artwork included paintings, sculpture, film, and photographs. Later in his career visual art no longer had the same meaning for him, and he turned to writing and music. He published several books, including a book of poems nominated for a Governor General’s Literary Award. In 1978 he was named an Officer of the Order of Canada. Kiyooka died in 1994. We are fortunate to have audio and video records that provide further insights into his life and works.  You can access these records in the Related Links section provided in the information about his artwork 32 Frames from Tobin Street.

we stood in the back-alley
looking up at its array of white blossoms
and under our breath say
how lucky we are to find such a splendid
clapboardhouse with its own tall pear tree.
eight brimfilled years spoke to me as I put the last sliver in
my mouth and suckt up all the sweet pear juice.

– Roy Kiyooka, Pear Tree Poem


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning

Roy Kiyooka

About the Artist

Roy Kiyooka naît à Moose Jaw (Saskatchewan), en 1926; c’est un Japonais canadien de la seconde génération. Il grandit à Calgary (Alberta), où, comme plus de 12,000 autres Japonais canadiens, il était reconnu par les autorités comme ressortissant d’un pays ennemi durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il fréquente le Provincial Institute of Technology and Art (désormais appelé SAIT Polytechnic) à Calgary de 1946 à 1949. Par la suite, il travaille dans cette ville comme étalagiste, dispensant un cours de soir à l’Institut. En 1995, il obtient une bourse qui lui permet d’étudier pendant une année à Mexico.

Bien qu’il ait fini par s’installer à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), Kiyooka a vécu, travaillé et étudié dans plusieurs villes. En 1956, il a accepté un poste comme instructeur au Regina College à Regina, en Saskatchewan. En 1959, Kiyooka a été invité – avec Art McKay et Ron BlooreBarnett Newman à l’atelier d’artistes d’Emma Lake. Quoique Kiyooka se soit associé avec les peintres qui plus tard seraient connus sous le nom de Regina Five, il avait quitté Regina cette même année pour accepter un poste à la Vancouver School of Art.

Au cours de sa carrière, Kiyooka a été peintre, photographe, musicien, réalisateur poète et professeur. Il a enseigné à plusieurs universités. Il a pris sa retraite de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique à Vancouver en 1991, après avoir enseigné pendant trente ans.

Kiyooka est considéré comme l’un des premiers artistes multidisciplinaires du Canada. Son art visuel comprend des peintures, des sculptures, des films, ainsi que des photographies. Plus tard dans sa carrière, l’art visuel n’offrait plus le même intérêt pour lui, car il s’était tourné vers l’écriture et la musique. Il a publié plusieurs ouvrages, dont un recueil de poèmes qui avait été sur la liste courte pour le Prix du gouverneur général. En 1978, il a été promu au rang d’Officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Kiyooka est décédé en 1994. Heureusement, le gouvernement canadien a pu conserver des archives audio et vidéo qui nous offrent un aperçu de sa vie et de son oeuvre.

“we stood in the back-alley / Nous étions dans la ruelle

looking up at its array of white blossoms / À regarder son étalage de fleurs blanches

and under our breath say / et à voix basse disions

how lucky we are to find such a splendid / que nous étions bien chanceux d’avoir trouvé une si splendide

clapboardhouse with its own tall pear tree/ maison de bardeau avec son propre poirier

eight brimfilled years spoke to me as I put the last sliver in my mouth / huit années débordantes me parlaient comme je déposai dans ma bouche le dernier quartier.

and suckt up all the sweet pear juice.”/ et suçai tout le jus sucré de poire – Roy Kiyooka, Pear Tree Poems (Poèmes sur les poiriers)


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning