Kim Adams

About the Artist

MelbourneKim Adams was born in Edmonton, Alberta (seen here), but during his childhood his family moved often.  Writer Sarah Milroy says, “Adams spent his childhood as a rambler, ricocheting with his family from Edmonton to Melbourne and back again, finally settling in Victoria.  He attended 12 schools in 12 years, as his father followed work opportunities.” (Milroy, 2001)  With a school record like Adams’, it’s no wonder he was tempted to skip classes and became interested in street life and street culture.  At an early age he began cutting things up and reinventing objects, and sometimes these objects became architectural structures or ‘vehicles’ in which the artist could actually live.

Lizard Adams’ early experiences in Australia had a significant impact on his life, helping him to realize early on that the world is a big place with lots of opportunities.  When his family initially moved to Australia, they lived in a tin shack before building a better house, and ideas of home and metal construction figure prominently in Adams’ work today.  As a young child he was given model kits which he assembled himself; this freedom to put parts together using his own creativity has been important to his artistic process.  Nearly everything he creates has wheels and looks like it could possibly be a model kit gone awry.  Another Australian influence for Adams was the two-headed lizard found in that climate (seen here).  The two-headed theme, or going off in two directions at once, is a device he often uses, and is apparent in the Dual Curbing Machine (presented here on the ARTSask website) where the two ends of the structure are similar, with a body in between.

Adams studied with Mowry Baden at the University of Victoria and in 1979 received a Bachelor of Fine Arts.  He has exhibited extensively and received international recognition for his whimsical machines and his miniature industrial sculptural landscapes.  In these works, Adams explores issues related to  consumerismFind out about consumerism at Wikipedia:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consumerism  and society, travel and leisure, home and architecture, usefulness and uselessness, industrialization and technology, mobility and escapism, and art and function.

“The rampant cornucopia of consumer culture is his muse,” Milroy says, “Canadian Tire is his Arcadia, and out of it all he has produced a  body of workA collection of artwork by a particular artist, either over a lifetime, or as related to one subject, etc.  that has made him, indisputably, one of Canada’s most significant sculptors.” (Milroy, 2001)

Adams now lives and works in Grand Valley, Ontario.


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning

Kim Adams

About the Artist

MelbourneKim Adams est né à Edmonton (Alberta), mais sa famille a souvent déménagé durant son enfance. L’écrivaine Sarah Milroy affirme : «Adams passe son enfance à errer car sa famille se déplace d’Edmonton à Melbourne pour revenir à son point de départ et finir par s’installer à Victoria. Il fait 12 écoles en 12 ans, en raison du travail de son père.» (Milroy, 2001). Avec un pareil dossier scolaire, ce n’est pas étonnant qu’Adams ait été tenté de faire l’école buissonnière et se soit intéressé à la vie de la rue et à sa culture. Dès son jeune âge, il commence à découper des objets et à les réinventer; parfois même ces objets deviennent des structures architecturales ou des « véhicules » dans lesquels l’artiste peut vivre.

LizardLes premières expériences d’Adams en Australie ont un impact significatif sur sa vie et l’aident à réaliser très tôt que le monde est vaste et offre toutes sortes de  possibilités. Ainsi, avant d’emménager dans une maison plus confortable, sa famille habite tout d’abord dans une cabane en tôle; c’est en partie la raison pour laquelle l’idée de maisons ou de constructions en métal est si marquante aujourd’hui dans les oeuvres d’Adams. Jeune enfant, il reçoit des modèles réduits qu’il monte lui-même; cette liberté d’assembler des parties en utilisant sa créativité est intégrale à son développement artistique. Presque tout ce qu’il crée a des roues et a l’air d’un modèle réduit qui a mal tourné. Une autre influence australienne est le lézard bicéphale que l’on retrouve dans ce climat. Ce thème des deux têtes --ou celui d’aller dans deux directions à la fois-- est très présent et est apparent dans la Machine à courbe duelle, présentée ici, où les deux extrémités de la structure sont similaires et partagent un corps.

Adams suit les cours de Mowry Baden à l’Université de Victoria et reçoit en 1979 son baccalauréat en arts visuels. Il a abondamment exposé ses machines fantaisistes et ses paysages industriels miniatures sculpturels, pour lesquels il a obtenu une reconnaissance internationale. Dans ces oeuvres, Adams explore des thèmes reliés à la consommation et à la société, aux voyages et aux divertissements, à la mobilité et à l’évasion, ainsi qu’à l’art et à la fonction.

 «L’omniprésente corne d’abondance de la culture de consommation est sa muse», de déclarer Milroy, «Canadian Tire est son Arcadie, et de tout cela il a produit une oeuvre qui en a fait, indiscutablement, l’un des sculpteurs les plus importants du Canada.» (Milroy, 2001)

Adams travaille et habite présentement à Grand Valley (Ontario).


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning