Janieta Eyre

About the Artist

Janieta Eyre’s post-secondary studies began with philosophy, a discipline in which she earned a degree from the University of Toronto, in Ontario, in 1988. The following year, she quickly transitioned to the study of magazine journalism at Ryerson Polytechnic University, also in Toronto, before moving on to study photography at the Ontario College of Art and Design.

Given this background, it should come as little surprise that Eyre, who has made photography her  mediumAny material and technique used to produce a work of art (paint, glass, clay, fibre, video, sound, etc.). It may also refer to the liquid with which powdered pigments are mixed to make paint. Note that the plural form of “medium” is “media.”  of choice since the 1990s and exhibits in important galleries worldwide, creates photographs that are haunting - profoundly stirring self-portraits with a keen sense of style, image and fashion. Her training in philosophy prepared her to deal with the nature of mind, while her training in the worlds of magazines and photography paved the way for her elegant use of imaging techniques.

Eyre’s work, which is almost exclusively self-portraiture, makes use of  styleA way of doing something. Use of materials, methods of working, design qualities and choice of subject matter reflect the style of the individual, culture, movement, or time period.  as an indicator of time, place, history and society. Some of her works would be at home in the National Portrait Gallery, others in an issue of Vogue, and still others in a dusty chest or in an attic full of forgotten things. Most commonly, Eyre chooses to replicate herself in her work, raising doubt about the validity of a single, unified “self,” and blurring the distinction between the original and the copy.

Eyre is respected internationally for her photographic work, which has now expanded into film practice. She currently lives and works in Vancouver, British Columbia which is also home to other well-known Canadian photographers/artists such as Jeff Wall and Rodney Graham. Her work has notably been purchased by the Sobey Art Collection, the Canada Council Art Bank, and the collection of Microsoft, in Seattle, Washington.


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning

Janieta Eyre

About the Artist

Janieta Eyre a commencé ses études postsecondaires en philosophie, matière dans laquelle elle a obtenu, en1988, un diplôme de l’Université de Toronto (Ontario) . L’année suivante, elle passe à l’étude du journalisme de magazine (Magazine Journalism) à la Ryerson Polytechnic University, également à Toronto, avant d’étudier la photographie au Ontario College of Art and Design.

Étant donné ses antécédents, il n’est pas surprenant qu’Eyre, qui a fait de la photographie son médium de choix depuis les années 1990, et dont les oeuvres sont exposées dans d’importantes galeries un peu partout au monde, crée des photographies qui obsèdent, des autoportraits profondément émouvants, qui démontrent un sens raffiné du style, de l’image et de la mode. La formation d’Eyre en philosophie l’a préparée à comprendre la nature de l’esprit, et sa formation dans les mondes des magazines et de la photographie l’a préparée à l’usage élégant qu’elle fait de techniques d’images.

L’oeuvre d’Eyre, qui consiste presque exclusivement en autoportraits, utilise le style comme indicateur de période, d’endroit, d’histoire et de société. Quelques-unes de ses oeuvres pourraient certainement faire partie de la collection de la National Portrait Gallery, d’autres pourraient se trouver dans un numéro de Vogue, et d’autres encore pourraient avoir été tirées du coffre poussiéreux d’un grenier plein de choses oubliées. Eyre choisit de se reproduire dans son oeuvre, mettant en doute la validité de la croyance en un soi unique, unifié, brouillant ainsi les distinctions entre l’original et la copie.

Eyre est internationalement respectée pour son oeuvre photographique, qu’elle a développée pour y ajouter une pratique filmique. Elle vit et travaille présentement à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique), où vivent également d’autres artistes-photographes reconnus, tels que Jeff Wall and Rodney Graham. Son oeuvre fait partie de la Collection d’art de Sobey, de la Banque d’oeuvres d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada, ainsi que de la collection de Microsoft, à Seattle, dans l’État de Washington.


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning