Frances Robson

About the Artist

Frances Robson was born in Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, and lived in several communities during her childhood.  One of these communities, Loon Lake, an area that was homesteaded during the 1920s and 1930s, had the biggest impact on her development. Loon Lake was an unusually tight-knit community in a province where community life is important; it was here that her grandfather established the family farm, and where her family eventually settled.

Unable to find work as a teacher, Robson’s father took up a farm at Loon Lake. The family lived a hand-to-mouth existence for some time. “Poverty is quite common in the Loon Lake area,” Robson later recalled. “We lived on welfare, farm produce and fish for several years until he (Robson’s father) was eligible for pensions.” (Saskatchewan Arts Board, Saskatchewan Portraits, 1984)

While Robson was young, her mother died, and to fill the void she spent time with the women in the community, who became an inspiration in her photographic work. In her photographs she explores women’s roles, activities, friendships, and links, and examines society’s attitudes toward women. As with fellow photographer Thelma Pepper, many of the subjects in Robson’s photos are elderly women.

Robson studied English, Art, and French at the University of Saskatchewan. She then studied art and photography at the University of Ottawa and The School of Art Institute of Chicago.


How She Became Interested in Photography- Taking Photos of Groups of People
Juxtaposing Women's Groups
Saskatoon Quilt Guild- Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, 1987
Searching for Identity
Why She Started Photographing Groups of Women
Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning

Frances Robson

About the Artist

Frances Robson est née à Meadow Lake (Saskatchewan) et a vécu dans plusieurs communautés au cours de son enfance. Un de ces endroits, Loon Lake, établie par les colons pendant les années 1920 et 1930, a eu le plus d’influence sur son développement. C’était une communauté exceptionnellement très unie dans une province où la vie communautaire est très importante. C’est là que son grand-père avait établi sa ferme et où sa famille a fini par s’installer.

Incapable de trouver un poste d’enseignant, le père de Robson se fait fermier à Loon Lake. La famille vit au jour le jour pendant quelques temps. « La pauvreté était fait courant dans la région de Loon Lake, déclarera Robson plus tard. Nous avons vécu du bien-être social, des produits de la ferme et de la pêche pendant plusieurs années jusqu’au moment où il (le père de Robson) a eu le droit à la retraite. » (Saskatchewan Arts Board, Saskatchewan Portraits, 1984)

Sa mère étant morte pendant l’enfance de Robson, pour combler le vide, cette dernière passe du temps avec les femmes de la communauté. Elles deviendront source d’inspiration pour sa photographie. Elle explore le rôle des femmes, leurs activités, leurs amitiés et leurs liens, et examine l’attitude de la société envers elles. Comme le fait sa collègue photographe, Thelma Pepper, Robson prend souvent comme sujets des femmes âgées.

Robson a étudié l’anglais, les arts et le français à la University of Saskatchewan. Elle a ensuite étudié les beaux-arts et la photographie à la University of Ottawa et The School of Art Institute of Chicago.


À la recherche de l’identité
La juxtaposition des cercles de femmes
L’identité Comment elle s’est intéressée à la photographie – à faire des photos de groupe
Pourquoi elle a commencé à prendre des photos de groupes de femmes
Saskatoon Quilt Guild- Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, 1987
Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning