Bill E. Burns

About the Artist

Bill Burns was born in Regina, Saskatchewan, and received his Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the University of Victoria in 1980. He continued his studies in England at Goldsmiths’ College, University of London, receiving his Master of Fine Arts degree in 1987.

Burns regularly incorporates what he calls "small animals" into his work. He often places the small animal, or a  virtualExisting not in actual fact or form, but in essence or effect in the mind, especially as a product of the imagination or of illusion. (Artlex.com)  small animal, into a new context  or environment. This combination of animal and environment then inspires a viewer to think about real animals in real environments.

We should, however, question Burns’ use of the term “small” animals. In his review of Burns’ ongoing project Safety Gear for Small Animals, Jack Anderson notes that some of the toy animals Burns used are not small in real life, but are, in fact, extra-large mammals. The bison and the kangaroo (as seen in the works presented here on the ARTSask website) would fit into this category.

Surely Burns’s choice of the adjective ‘small’ is not accidental. It is one of the keys to this project. As used here, this is a word of discord rather than of accord, of imbalance rather than balance; it has less to do with the size of the animals he represents and more to do with human-centred views of the world, where industry and economics prevail over nature, where we distantly position ourselves not as a part of the natural order but rather apart from it, and where biological hierarchies are at play in which animals are placed below human beings on the food chain. (Anderson, undated)

Safety Gear for Small Animals was a ten-year project, containing elements framed as displays you might find in a natural history museum, only with toy animals juxtaposed with open books, representing how humans organize knowledge.  Anderson suggests the  metaphorUsed in art as in speech. A term, regularly used for one object, is used for another and suggests a likeness between to the two.  of the museum is part of Burns’ strategy to show how humans try to control and tame nature.

Burns opens a discussion of how safely contained nature is there – and how we frame it and manage it by organizing it into scientific systems of classification. Ostensibly preserving and reconstructing nature, the museum is strangely nature’s morgue, a site of the inanimate, of plastic models and dioramas, of taxidermy and taxonomy. (Anderson, undated)

Bill Burns, one of Canada’s wittiest, and at the same time most serious, artist, lives in Toronto.

 


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning

Bill E. Burns

About the Artist

Natif de Regina (Saskatchewan), Bill Burns obtient, en 1980, son baccalauréat en beaux-arts de la University of Victoria. Il poursuit ensuite ses études en Angleterre au Goldsmiths’ College, Université de Londres,d’où il sort en 1987, maîtrise en beaux-arts en poche.

Burns incorpore régulièrement dans ses œuvres ce qu’il appelle des « petits animaux ». Il place un petit animal, réel ou virtuel, dans un nouvel environnement pour nous faire penser à de vrais animaux dans de vrais environnements.

On doit cependant remettre en question l’emploi du mot «  petit » dont Burns se sert pour décrire ses animaux. Dans sa critique du projet Safety Gear for Small Animals, Jack Anderson souligne de certains des animaux en peluche que Burns a utilisés représentent des animaux qui ne sont pas à proprement parler petits et qu’en fait, ce sont en fait de très grands mammifères. C’est le cas du bison et du kangourou qu’on voit dans les œuvres présentées dans le site Web d’ARTSask.

Que Burns est choisi d’employer le mot « petit » n’est sûrement pas accidentel. C’est une des clés de ce projet. Employé ici, il suggère plus la discorde que l’accord, le déséquilibre que l’équilibre. Il a moins à voir avec la taille des animaux qu’il représente qu’avec la vision que l’être humain a du monde, où industrie et économie l’emportent sur la nature, où on peut prendre ses distances par rapport à l’ordre naturel et où les hiérarchies biologiques entrent en jeu, l’animal étant placé plus bas que l’être humain dans la chaîne alimentaire. (Trad. Anderson, sans date)

Safety Gear for Small Animals est un projet qui a duré dix ans. Il contient des éléments présentés comme des diaporamas dans un musée d’histoire naturelle, la différence étant que les animaux en peluche sont juxtaposés à des livres, pour représenter la façon dont les êtres humains organisent le savoir. Anderson suggère que la métaphore du musée fait partie de la stratégie de Burns pour montrer que l’homme essaie de contrôler et de dompter la nature.

Burns entame une discussion sur la façon dont la nature est en toute sécurité ici – et sur la façon dont on la présente et la gère en l’organisant selon une classification scientifique. En prétendant préserver et reconstruire la nature, le musée en devient, bizarrement, la morgue, un endroit fait d’objets inanimés en plastique et de diaporamas, un symbole de la taxidermie et la taxonomie. (Anderson, sans date)

Bill Burns, un des artistes canadiens parmi les plus spirituels, et en même les plus sérieux, habite à Toronto.


Canadian Heritage University of Regina Mackenzie Art Gallery Mendel Art Gallery Sask Learning